Nikon Coolpix P90

A while back I impulsively decided to grab a “backup” camera on eBay – a Nikon Coolpix P90 which had a number of impressive features on paper, including 12.1 megapixels, a 24x optical zoom and a 3″ vari-angle monitor. (It also came with a rechargeable battery and charger – an absolute must with me. I refuse to buy a camera that consumes batteries.)

My regular camera is a Sony a200, a DSLR, so a point-and-shoot, no matter how “manual” you make it, isn’t going to measure up. But it’s not meant to be my main camera. It’s going to be what I rely on if I am without my Sony for any length of time, or if I had a wedding to photograph and it didn’t work for some reason.

Still, I’ve been playing with the new camera to see just what it has and to see whether I can compensate for the things it lacks. A photographer I know is always saying “It’s not the camera, it’s the photographer.” If that’s true,  eventually I should be able to make images with the Nikon that I’m as happy with as the ones I can make with my Sony.

Eventually.

The Nikon does have one huge thing over my Sony: the images are roughly the same size, or a bit bigger, BUT the Nikon records them at 300 dpi!

Also, I can make short movies with the Nikon, which I gave up when I got my DSLR. But that’s more fun than necessity.

These are the first photos I took with the Nikon, walking around some nicer neighborhoods in NB a little before sunset. The only thing I played with was the aperture setting.

Tree seedsTree seedsLawn chair and flowers

I took these today, wandering around downtown NB during breaks at work.

Pink azaleasWeeds

For these last, I purposefully under-exposed, and also discovered that I could lessen the saturation in-camera, which helped a lot.

Wet myrtleWaterdropFly

The focus gave me some difficulty, and the “manual” focus is digital, which I really don’t care for, but I am, of course, still getting used to it.

SnailSnailSnail

Ever wonder where baby snails come from? I do… since these weren’t there, and then suddenly they were!

Little snails

Leave a Reply

