Morning Has Broken

Sunday morning at my mom’s. I got up good and early to head to Nasketucket before it got too hot but had to take some pictures of flowers at my mother’s that were covered in droplets of dew.

I used my prime lens with a close up filter for these shots

PhloxPhloxRose of Sharon

Tiny blue wildflowers at Nasketucket

Blue wildflowersBlue wildflower

My prize – and surprise: a spicebush swallowtail on Joe-Pye weed. These guys usually stick to the edge of the woods, but this one was hungry. It was feeding on a tall Joe-Pye weed and didn’t fly off when I inched closer and even when I used my flash on him.

Spicebush SwallowtailSpicebush Swallowtail

This one is my very favorite

Spicebush Swallowtail

4 thoughts on “Morning Has Broken

  1. That little blue flower looks like a Commelina species. We have one here in Australia called “Scurvy Weed” (Commelina cyanea), which doesn’t quite do it justice.

    Lovely shots, especially the Swallowtail.

Leave a Reply

