Another ‘Lifer’

I don’t consider myself a birder – I observe all of nature – but I have started a “Life List,” to which I can now add Golden Crowned Kinglet. My Pearson’s field guide describes kinglets as “tiny mites of birds, smaller than warblers,” which is the truth. I heard this little girl (the guys have orange crowns) rustling around in the dry leaves, looking for food, and when I was finally able to catch a glance of her, I was struck by how very small she was. She also would not stay still for a bloody second, so even with my flash, I didn’t get a really good shot of her. But at least I got one (blurry) head-on shot showing her “golden crown,” which was key in identifying her.

Golden Crowned KingletGolden Crowned KingletGolden Crowned KingletGolden Crowned KingletGolden Crowned Kinglet

Leave a Reply

