Orchid Heaven

We went to the Cape & Islands Orchid Show today, and while it was pricy (Ulysse got a hotdog and chips for $6!!!) and crowded, the show itself was beautiful. There is nothing like a room full of blooming flowers in January!

I had been once before, but I hadn’t had my camera long, so I knew one setting – which I had read in a magazine – and that’s what I did for every shot. This time I brought three lenses and some close up filters and went to town!

These were taken using a flash which, of course, captures a lot of detail and the flowers’ “true” colors:

OrchidOrchidsOrchidsOrchidsOrchidsOrchidsOrchidOrchidsOrchidsOrchid

This is my favorite one, compositionally:

Orchids

These I took without a flash using my 50mm Minolta lens, and I think, of all the pictures I took, that they came out the most interesting:

OrchidOrchidOrchidsOrchidsOrchidOrchidsOrchidOrchidsOrchid

And, of the ones I took without a flash, this one is my personal favorite:

Orchid

One thought on “Orchid Heaven

Leave a Reply

