I hope it rains…

I know, blasphemy, but I have a very good reason: I am worried about the frog eggs in the vernal pools at Nasketucket. There is a big sack of eggs, each with a tiny developing tadpole inside, but about a third of it, if not more, is above the water level now. They are sealed inside – in some kind of amniotic fluid, I assume – so maybe they’ll be okay, but it still bugs me. I almost wonder whether I should go back and at least maneuver the stick so they’re under the water? But then I think, no, let nature be. The pool and the life forms in it will either make it or it won’t. What would you do?

Frog eggs

Frog eggs

Frog eggs

Frog eggs

3 thoughts on “I hope it rains…

Leave a Reply

